ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Dates, Locations, and Important Games

You are currently viewing ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Dates, Locations, and Important Games
World Cup 2023

The Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to captivate the cricketing world once again, with a thrilling lineup of matches scheduled across India. As defending champions England gear up to take on the formidable New Zealand team in the tournament opener on October 5 in Ahmedabad, cricket enthusiasts worldwide are eagerly awaiting this grand spectacle.

World Cup 2023

Tournament Venues

This edition of the World Cup will be hosted at ten distinguished venues, each with its own unique charm and cricketing history. These venues are:

  1. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad: The largest cricket stadium in the world, this iconic venue will not only host the tournament opener but also the final match on November 19.
  2. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai: Known for its electric atmosphere, Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium will host one of the semifinals on November 15.
  3. Eden Gardens, Kolkata: Another historic venue, Kolkata’s Eden Gardens, will host the second semifinal on November 16.
  4. Chennai: Matches featuring India and Australia will take place in Chennai, with the first encounter scheduled for October 8.
  5. Delhi: The capital city will witness intense clashes, including the India vs. Afghanistan match on October 11.
  6. Pune: Matches in Pune will include India facing Bangladesh on October 19 and the Netherlands on November 12.
  7. Dharamsala: New Zealand will take on Afghanistan here on October 18, and Australia will meet South Africa on October 28.
  8. Lucknow: South Africa will battle England on October 21 in Lucknow.
  9. Bengaluru: Matches in Bengaluru will feature Australia vs. Pakistan on October 20 and England vs. Netherlands on November 8.
  10. Bengaluru: The second India vs. Pakistan clash in the tournament will be held in Ahmedabad on October 14.

The Tournament Format

The World Cup will feature a total of 48 matches, with the top ten cricketing nations participating. Eight teams had already qualified for the tournament, and the remaining two earned their spots through the World Cup Qualifiers. The format involves a round-robin group stage, where each team plays the other nine, followed by the top four teams progressing to the semifinals.

Qualification Process

The road to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 wasn’t an easy one for many teams. Let’s take a closer look at the qualification process that led to the selection of the ten participating teams.

Super League

The Super League consisted of the 12 full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), along with the Netherlands. These teams had to battle it out to secure their spots in the World Cup.

League 2

The League 2 featured teams from the UAE, Nepal, Scotland, the USA, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, and Oman. While they didn’t have full member status, these teams competed fiercely for a chance to participate in the World Cup.

Challenge League

The Challenge League included teams ranked from 21st to 32nd in the World Cricket League (WCL). These teams faced stiff competition with the hope of advancing to the World Cup.

WC Qualifier

From the Super League, the top 7 teams, along with India as the host, earned their spots in the World Cup. Meanwhile, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa secured their positions through the Super League.


The Play-Off stage involved the bottom 4 teams from the League 2, and the winners of the Challenge League A & B. These teams fought hard for a chance to make it to the World Cup.

In the end, the top 10 selected teams, including the host India, were set to compete in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

Host Country: India

India, known for its passionate cricket fan base and world-class facilities, was chosen as the host country for the World Cup. With its rich cricketing history, India is the perfect stage for this prestigious event.

Key Dates

The tournament is scheduled to commence on October 5, 2023, and will culminate with the final match on November 19, 2023. These dates mark a period of intense cricket action that fans worldwide are eagerly anticipating.

Participating Teams

The ten teams that will be participating in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 are:

  1. India
  2. Australia
  3. England
  4. New Zealand
  5. Pakistan
  6. Afghanistan
  7. Bangladesh
  8. Sri Lanka
  9. Netherlands
  10. South Africa

These teams represent the best of the cricketing world and will vie for the coveted title.

Key Matches to Watch

India vs. Australia (October 8, Chennai)

In a high-stakes encounter, India will take on Australia in Chennai. This match promises to be a thrilling contest, as both teams have a history of intense battles on the cricket field.

India vs. Pakistan (October 14, Ahmedabad)

The much-anticipated India vs. Pakistan clash will take place in Ahmedabad, and it’s bound to be a game that cricket fans around the world will have their eyes on. The rivalry between these two teams raises the level of intrigue in this game.

India vs. England (October 29, Lucknow)

Another marquee matchup awaits as India faces England in Lucknow. Both teams possess formidable lineups and will be eager to secure a crucial victory.

Semifinals and Final

The semifinals are scheduled for November 15 and 16, with the final showdown set for November 19, all at different iconic venues. The cricketing world will be on the edge of their seats as the tournament reaches its thrilling climax.

Source; Click Here

Finally, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be an unparalleled cricketing event. With a star-studded lineup of matches and a diverse array of venues, cricket fans can expect an unforgettable tournament filled with drama, excitement, and unforgettable moments. Mark your calendars and get ready for a cricketing spectacle that will captivate the world!

Leave a Reply